Unbalanced limbs

The right limb is already by 1mm thinner but it is still too stiff. Is this common or I used wrong pair of horns ? I hope I will get at least 60 pound bow from this. Left limb is 13mm and right 12.1mm.

Ouch. It could well be that the core is broken right from the grip. Something i have plenty of experience lately…
But don’t lose hope, especially if you did taper the core properly. Maybe horn on the right limb was more reflexed in the grip fade area.
In general, this place should have quite a lot of sinew, since the forces are enormous. This is what i have learned from old bows and other experienced bowyers. Extra sinew never hurts in the grip area.

What does it look like when unbraced? @Matthias is not afraid of broken cores! If sinew backing is good, you will have a shooting bow anyway.

Well you scared me :smiley:
This is the shape after tillering.
Top limb is weaker.
Yes bottom limb has more reflex in grip/sal area and I’ve tried to reduced it with heat but it didn’t help.
Grip/sal transition on core is triangular and edges are filled with 4-5mm sinew layer.

1 Like

Unbraced pic looks better. Make it work! :smiley:

1 Like

Now I have opposite problem :smiley: seems like it’s best to make adjustment and then wait for few hours to see change. What was yesterday weaker is today stronger. But It looks better…and it’s so tiny.

Yeah… especially if you have the bow in stressed situation for longer, this happens. Temporary set of some sort. But the bow seems to have enough thickness for 60#. Take into account that after shooting or seasoning the bow for a year you will see the poundage rise about 10#. So 50# bow is easily 60# next year, no joke.

After few passes with scraper it looks like this.
Draw weight at 22 inches is 60 pound

1 Like

I’m on fulldraw and there is still some imbalance, but it can be corrected or changed by bending one limb over the knee so finally it’s end of scraping.
65 pound at 28.

1 Like